Assessment of Student Learning Award2018-06-19T12:18:50+00:00

Assessment of Student Learning Award


Recipients are recognized for their outstanding service towards assessing student learning at Texas A&M University.

The selection committee considers, but is not limited to the following criteria:

  • Direct impact on students and/or student groups in creating an environment which enhances student learning in the co-curricular.
  • Shows dedication on improving student learning in the co-curricular through using assessment results.
  • Assessment of student learning is linked to the University, Division of Student Affairs, and/or supports the advancement of students achieving the institutional undergraduate/graduate learning outcomes.


Recipients must meet the following eligibility requirements to be recognized:

  • Be a current Division of Student Affairs employee. Team nomination: all members must be current DSA employees. All staff below the DSA Department Directors are eligible.
  • Be full-time and budgeted at least 50% time.
  • Have a minimum of six months of service, as of March 8, 2018, 11:45pm CST, in current department or any other department within the Division of Student Affairs.
  • Not have received an Assessment of Student Learning Award at any of the previous three DSA Awards ceremonies (2015, 2016 or 2017). Applies to individual nomination or all members of a team nomination.


  • Individual: recipient will receive a $500 cash award and memento
  • Team: individual plaques; team members will share a total cash award of $500
  • One individual or team awarded

Nomination Requirements

  • Nomination Form (separate nomination form is not required)
  • Two one-page letters of support

Failure to follow nomination requirements exactly will result in a disqualified nomination. No exceptions will be made.

The nomination form will be open for submissions on November 1, 2017, and will close on March 8, 2018 at 11:45pm CST.

The submission deadline has expired as of March 8, 2018 11:45PM CST.

Past Assessment of Student Learning Award Recipients

2017-2018: Kyle McCracken, Residence Life

2016-2017: DSA Committee on Leadership Initiatives (Dr. Melissa Shehane, Katy King, Dr. Tony Brown, Dr. Gennie Lynn, Kelly Cox, Heather Wheeler, Varselles Cummings, Tearney Woodruff, Tia Crawford, Norma Nunez)

2015-2016: Katy King, Memorial Student Center